open Secondary menu

Thirty-sixth General Election 1997: Official Voting Results: Synopsis


Federal Electoral Districts

The names of the federal electoral districts are drawn from the official list prepared under the Representation Order of 1996.


The population figures cited in this report are provided by Statistics Canada, based on its decennial census of 1991.

Electors on the List

The number of electors on the list of electors for the 1997 general election means those appearing on the final list as established under section 71.32 of the Canada Elections Act, that is, after polling day. This list includes the official list of electors used at polling stations on June 2, 1997 as well as electors who registered on polling day, Canadian Forces electors, inmates and Canadian electors living temporarily outside Canada.

The number of electors on the final list referred to in this report is slightly higher than that reported in the final list provided to the registered parties and elected candidates in October 1997. The verification of returns from the polls, which continued at Elections Canada after the parties and candidates had received their lists, revealed polling day registrants who had not been reported previously.

Under the new rules for establishing the electoral list using data from the National Register of Electors, the onus was on electors to ensure that their names appeared correctly on the list. The data in the Register were from the April 1997 enumeration except in Alberta and Prince Edward Island, where the data were from their March 1997 and November 1996 provincial elections, respectively.

The voter turnout rate shown in the following tables was calculated on the basis of the number of electors registered on the final list of electors.

Special Voting Rules

The Special Voting Rules make it possible for two groups to vote by mail. The first group consists of classes of electors whose names appear on separate lists, including Canadian Forces electors, inmates and Canadian electors temporarily residing outside Canada. The second group consists of classes of electors whose names appear on the lists of electors of the polling divisions, but who register to vote by special ballot because they will be unable to vote at an advance poll or on polling day.

Polling Stations

Ordinary polling stations are those that were established under sections 105 to 107 of the Canada Elections Act and were open on polling day, June 2, 1997. Included are mobile polling stations as established under section 107.1 of the Act. The latter were located in polling divisions containing two or more institutions for elderly or disabled persons, and they were open only for the duration of the vote-taking.

Section 280 of the Canada Elections Act also provides for the establishment of advance polling stations. These stations are open from 12 noon to 8:00 p.m. on Friday, Saturday and Monday, the 10th, 9th and 7th days before ordinary polling day (May 23, 24 and 26, 1997, for this election).

Political Affiliation

On the ballots, each candidate's name is followed by his or her affiliation with a registered political party as recorded on the candidate's nomination paper. If that party was unable to comply with the legal registration requirements, the candidate is deemed to have "no affiliation" and nothing appears after his or her name. If the candidate is not sponsored by a registered political party, the word "independent" follows his or her name unless the candidate submits a formal request in writing to the returning officer that nothing appear after his or her name.

Abbreviations of Political Affiliations

ActionCanadian Action Party
B.Q.Bloc Québécois
C.H.P.Christian Heritage Party of Canada
G.P.The Green Party of Canada
Lib.Liberal Party of Canada
M.-L.Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada
N.D.P.New Democratic Party
NILNo affiliation
N.L.P.Natural Law Party of Canada
P.C.Progressive Conservative Party of Canada
Ref.Reform Party of Canada

Withdrawal of Candidates

Under the Canada Elections Act, official candidates had until 5:00 p.m. on May 12, 1997, to withdraw their candidacy. In this election, no candidates withdrew.

[Previous]   [Table of Contents]   [Next]