open Secondary menu

Elections Canada's Official Reports

This section is organized by electoral event. Choose an election or a referendum to see the official reports:
























44th General Election

There are several steps to closing a general election and reporting on how it unfolded, as well as drawing lessons for future elections. Elections Canada is committed to sharing its analysis and reports. These documents will be published here as they become available.

Date: September 20, 2021

  • Statutory Report – January 31, 2022
    The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada provides an overview of the events that took place during the election period. This report must be presented to the Speaker of the House of Commons within 90 days after the date specified for the return of the writs in the election proclamation.
  • Cost Estimates
  • Official Voting Results – April 7, 2022
    The official voting results present the results of the election in much greater detail than the validated results that were shared immediately after the election. While the results themselves do not change, the official voting results provide more context by combining multiple data sources—including updated data on the number of registered electors, demographic information on candidates and poll-by-poll results—and presenting the data as a complete package, shared in multiple formats.
  • Other Research, Analyses and Data Related to the 44th General Election
    To help us evaluate our performance at each general election, Elections Canada conducts both public opinion research and analyses using administrative data. We use the findings to improve our services. The Chief Electoral Officer also uses them to make recommendations to Parliament.
  • Recommendations Report – Spring 2022
    The Recommendations Report presents a list of recommendations to amend the Canada Elections Act with the aim of providing better services to electors or improving the way Elections Canada does its business. This report contains recommendations flowing from both the 43rd and the 44th general elections.
  • Retrospective Report – October 11, 2022
    The Retrospective Report evaluates Elections Canada's success in delivering the 44th general election, as measured against specific performance indicators, and identifies areas for improvement going forward. The assessment is based on information and data collected through post-election analyses, official reports and audits; feedback from key stakeholder groups; and the results of research and surveys on the experience of electors, candidates and election officers.
  • Complaints Analysis Report
    Between August 1 and November 1, 2021, Elections Canada reviewed complaints from electors about the 44th general election. This report summarizes key findings of the review and identifies areas where the agency can improve the elector experience.
  • External audit report
    The Canada Elections Act states that an independent audit must be performed for each federal general election and by-election to report whether election officers properly exercised the powers conferred on them or performed specific duties imposed on them.

43rd General Election

Date: October 21, 2019

42nd General Election

Date: October 19, 2015

41st General Election

Date: May 2, 2011

40th General Election

Date: October 14, 2008

39th General Election

Date: January 23, 2006

38th General Election

Date: June 28, 2004

37th General Election

Date: November 27, 2000

36th General Election

Date: June 2, 1997

July 24, 2023 By-election

Electoral district: Calgary Heritage (AB)

June 19, 2023 By-elections

Electoral districts: Notre-Dame-de-Grâce–Westmount (QC), Oxford (ON), Portage–Lisgar (MB), Winnipeg South Centre (MB)

December 12, 2022 By-election

Electoral district: Mississauga–Lakeshore (ON)

October 26, 2020 By-elections

Electoral districts: Toronto Centre (ON), York Centre (ON)

May 6, 2019 By-election

Electoral district: Nanaimo–Ladysmith (BC)

February 25, 2019 By-elections

Electoral districts: Outremont (QC), York–Simcoe (ON), Burnaby South (BC)

December 3, 2018 By-election

Electoral district: Leeds–Grenville–Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes (ON)

June 18, 2018 By-election

Electoral district: Chicoutimi–Le Fjord (QC)

December 11, 2017 By-elections

Electoral districts: Bonavista–Burin–Trinity (NL), Scarborough–Agincourt (ON), Battlefords–Lloydminster (SK), South Surrey–White Rock (BC)

October 23, 2017 By-elections

Electoral districts: Lac-Saint-Jean (QC), Sturgeon River–Parkland (AB)

April 3, 2017 By-elections

Electoral districts: Calgary Heritage (AB), Calgary Midnapore (AB), Markham–Thornhill (ON), Ottawa–Vanier (ON), Saint-Laurent (QC)

October 24, 2016 By-elections

Electoral district: Medicine Hat–Cardston–Warner (AB)

November 17, 2014 By-elections

Electoral district: Whitby–Oshawa (ON), Yellowhead (YK)

June 30, 2014 By-elections

Electoral districts: Fort McMurray–Athabasca (AB), Macleod (AB), Scarborough–Agincourt (ON), Trinity–Spadina (ON)

November 25, 2013 By-elections

Electoral districts: Bourassa (QC), Brandon–Souris (MB), Provencher (MB), Toronto Centre (ON)

May 13, 2013 By-election

Electoral district: Labrador (NL)

November 26, 2012 By-elections

Electoral districts: Calgary Centre (AB), Durham (ON), Victoria (BC)

March 19, 2012 By-election

Electoral districts: Toronto–Danforth (ON)

November 29, 2010 By-elections

Electoral districts: Dauphin–Swan River–Marquette (MB), Vaughan (ON), Winnipeg North (MB)

November 9, 2009 By-elections

Electoral districts: Cumberland–Colchester–Musquodoboit Valley (NS), Hochelaga (QC), Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup (QC), New Westminster–Coquitlam (BC)

March 17, 2008 By-elections

Electoral districts: Desnethé–Missinippi–Churchill River (SK), Toronto Centre (ON), Vancouver Quadra (BC), Willowdale (ON)

September 17, 2007 By-elections

Electoral districts: Outremont (QC), Roberval–Lac-Saint-Jean (QC), Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot (QC)

November 27, 2006 By-elections

Electoral districts: London North Centre (ON), Repentigny (QC)

May 24, 2005 By-election

Electoral district: Labrador (NL)

June 16, 2003 By-elections

Electoral districts: Lévis-et-Chutes-de-la-Chaudière (QC), Témiscamingue (QC)

May 12, 2003 By-election

Electoral district: Perth–Middlesex (ON)

December 9, 2002 By-elections

Electoral district: Berthier–Montcalm (QC), Lac-Saint-Jean–Saguenay (QC)

May 13, 2002 By-elections

Electoral districts: Calgary Southwest (AB), Saint Boniface (MB), Windsor West (ON), Saint-Léonard–Saint-Michel (QC), Verdun–Saint-Henri–Saint-Paul–Pointe Saint-Charles (QC), Bonavista–Trinity–Conception (NL), Gander–Grand Falls (NL)

September 11, 2000 By-elections

Electoral districts: Okanagan–Coquihalla (BC), Kings–Hants (NS)

May 15, 2000 By-election

Electoral district: St. John's West (NL)

November 15, 1999 By-elections

Electoral district: Hull–Aylmer (QC), Mount Royal (QC), Saskatoon–Rosetown–Biggar (SK), York West (ON)

April 12, 1999 By-election

Electoral district: Windsor–St. Clair (ON)

September 14, 1998 By-election

Electoral district: Sherbrooke (QC)

March 30, 1998 By-election

Electoral district: Port Moody–Coquitlam (BC)

March 25, 1996 By-elections

Electoral districts: Humber–St. Barbe–Baie Verte (NL), Labrador (NL), Lac-Saint-Jean (QC), Papineau–Saint-Michel (QC), Saint-Laurent–Cartierville (QC), Etobicoke North (ON), Hamilton East (ON)

1992 Federal Referendum

Date : October 26, 1992