open Secondary menu

Judicial Recount Terminated in the Electoral District of Hochelaga

News Release

Gatineau, Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Chief Electoral Officer of Canada Stéphane Perrault announced today that the judicial recount of the votes in the electoral district of Hochelaga (Quebec) has been terminated following a request for withdrawal by the candidate who requested the recount.

The request for withdrawal was received and accepted by Justice Christine Baudouin on November 4, 2019.

The termination of these proceedings does not affect the results for the electoral district of Hochelaga, which were validated before the recount began. The following are the validated results for all candidates in the electoral district.

Party Candidate Votes
Liberal Party of Canada Soraya Martinez Ferrada 18,008
Bloc Québécois Simon Marchand 17,680
New Democratic Party Catheryn Roy-Goyette 11,451
Green Party of Canada Robert D. Morais 2,618
Conservative Party of Canada Christine Marcoux 2,381
People's Party of Canada Stepan Balatsko 377
Parti Rhinocéros Party Chinook Blais-Leduc 314
Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada Christine Dandenault 107
Communist Party of Canada JP Fortin 101

More information on the judicial recount process is available at

Elections Canada is an independent, non-partisan agency that reports directly to Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations

Subscribe to our news service at