open Secondary menu

News Releases and Media Advisories

Elections Canada Announces Results of Judicial Recount
in the Electoral District of Desnethé–Missinippi–Rivière Churchill

Gatineau, Tuesday, November 3, 2015 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that Georgina Jolibois, the candidate of the New Democratic Party, has been declared elected in the electoral district of Desnethé–Missinippi–Rivière Churchill (Saskatchewan), following a judicial recount completed on Tuesday, November 3, 2015, by the Honourable Mr. Justice N.G. Gabrielson of the Saskatchewan Court of Queen's Bench.

At the 42nd general election held on October 19, 2015, the difference between the New Democrat candidate, Georgina Jolibois, and the Liberal candidate, Lawrence Joseph, was 71 votes in favour of Georgina Jolibois. Following the judicial recount, the difference between the two candidates is 82 votes.

The following are the results of the recount for all candidates in the electoral district of Desnethé–Missinippi–Rivière Churchill:

Candidate Party Votes
Rob Clarke Conservative Party of Canada 9,105
Georgina Jolibois New Democratic Party 10,319
Lawrence Joseph Liberal Party of Canada 10,237
Warren Koch Green Party of Canada 552

The returning officer for Desnethé–Missinippi–Rivière Churchill will complete the writ of election and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer, who will sign the writ and publish the name of the elected candidate in the Canada Gazette.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations

Subscribe to our news service at